Fearing Faces

Last night, my high school choir had a concert that included 5th-12th grade choir students. Each child had friends and family in the audience, resulting in hundreds of onlookers.

I sang two solos…and I have stage fright.

Singing in front of hundreds of people is one of the most terrifying things I have ever done, and I’ve climbed through the Red River Gorge and the Grand Canyon. I’ve also sat on the ledge of a mountain in the Rockies.

There’s just something about singing, putting yourself out there, in the faces of hundreds of strangers.

I’m not quite sure how my voice turned out, and I’m not completely confident that it sounded decent, but I’m incredibly proud of myself for singing without passing out.

Thousands of current performers have struggled with stage fright at some point in their lives. Vanessa Hudgens, famous from her role in High School Musical, used to sing for her local church and would get nervous before every single solo. Now, nearly every teenager across America, and many across the world, has heard her perform.

Who knows, maybe some day I’ll be in High School Musical: The Next Generation. (Not really…)

Have you ever had to perform something in front of a group of people and gotten stage fright?

3 comments

  1. hhinebaugh · February 21, 2014

    That’s awesome that your preformed! I would never be able to do that. From what I heard the whole concert was great so I’m sure you did well.

  2. drsimons · February 21, 2014

    You obviously have to be pretty good to sing two solos in a concert… Well done…

  3. shassey · February 21, 2014

    Standing on the top of a mountain sounds very scary

Leave a comment